Museo Marino Marini

And the Rucellai Chapel

Museo Marino Marini

Behind the Rucellai palace stands the ancient church of San Pancrazio, with an antique-style porch by Alberti, guarded by two lions so mossy and mouldering that one resembles a St Bernard and the other a muffin. At one point in its up-and-down career the church served as a tobacco factory. Now it’s been given a new life as as a museum dedicated to Marino Marini (1901–80) containing 180 works by one of the greatest Italian sculptors of the 20th century.

Marini also worked as a painter and lithographer, and his portraits and favourite subjects (especially the Horse and Rider) are known for their sensuous surfaces and uncanny psychological intensity.

Tempietto del Santo Sepolcro

This is also your chance to see the recently restored Rucellai Chapel, a perfect Renaissance gem designed in 1467 by Leon Battista Alberti with the Tempietto del Santo Sepolcro, an idealized reconstruction to scale of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem that is Giovanni Rucellai’s funerary monument.

Practical Info

Piazza San Pancrazio

Hours Wed-Fri 10am-1pm, Sat-Mon 10am-7pm. Closed Tues, Rucellai Chapel: guided tours limited to 25 people every 30 minutes.

Adm €6, students €3, under 6 free

website

+39 055 219432

This is a preview of the content in our Florence Art & Culture app. Get the app to:
iOS App Store Google Play