Behind the Rucellai palace stands the ancient church of San Pancrazio, with an antique-style porch by Alberti, guarded by two lions so mossy and mouldering that one resembles a St Bernard and the other a muffin. At one point in its up-and-down career the church served as a tobacco factory. Now it’s been given a new life as as a museum dedicated to Marino Marini (1901–80) containing 180 works by one of the greatest Italian sculptors of the 20th century.
Marini also worked as a painter and lithographer, and his portraits and favourite subjects (especially the Horse and Rider) are known for their sensuous surfaces and uncanny psychological intensity.
This is also your chance to see the recently restored Rucellai Chapel, a perfect Renaissance gem designed in 1467 by Leon Battista Alberti with the Tempietto del Santo Sepolcro, an idealized reconstruction to scale of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem that is Giovanni Rucellai’s funerary monument.
Piazza San Pancrazio
Hours Wed-Fri 10am-1pm, Sat-Mon 10am-7pm. Rucellai Chapel: guided tours limited to 25 people at 11, 11:30, 12, 12:30, 3, 3:30, 4 and 4:30.
Adm Free for the permanent collection, for the Rucellai Chapel: €6, students €4, under 6 free
+39 055 219432
Images by: Sailko, GNU Creative Commons License