This is a preview of the content in our Greek Food Decoder app. Get the app to:
  • Read offline
  • Remove ads
  • Access all content
  • Build a list of your own favourites
  • Search the contents with full-text search functionality
  • ... and more!
iOS App Store Google Play

halvas

χαλβάς

halva

There are two kinds. There's the tahini-based sweet, popular throughout the Balkans, Middle East and South Asia. It comes in different flavours, including pistachio, walnut and marbled chocolate and vanilla and is made without any dairy or eggs, making it one of the few sweet things allowed to believers during Lent.

Greek (or semolina) halva is an oil, semolina, sugar or honey and water pudding in syrup, often including nuts, and flavoured with cinnamon and cloves–the perfect vegan dessert, and equally okay during Lent.

Desserts, pastries and sweets

Text © Dana Facaros

Image by Dana Facaros