This is a preview of the content in our Italian Food Decoder app. Get the app to:
  • Read offline
  • Remove ads
  • Add Map function to find sites, as well as your own custom locations (your hotel...)
  • Build a list of your own favourites
  • Search the contents with our advanced text search functionality
  • ... and more!
iOS App Store Google Play


three kinds of ice cream

'Neapolitan' ice cream, as it is known in the U.S. comes in three layers, which are usually strawberry (or cherry), vanilla (or pistachio), and chocolate. In the original Neapolitan version, the classic flavours are hazelnut, chocolate and stracciatella, with a crunchy centre of candied fruit, chopped almonds, melted chocolate and other goodies. Some people spell it spumoni.

Text © Dana Facaros and Michael Pauls

Images by: i, Florixc, Creative Commons License