Italian Regions

an intro

In spite of antiquities left by the Etruscans, Romans, ancient Greeks and others, Italy is one of the youngest countries in Europe; its republics, kingdoms, duchies and papal states were only united in 1870—hence the deeply-felt differences between Italy's regions in many aspects of daily life, from language to cuisine.

We've mentioned a few classic dishes from each region, divided here between Northern Italy (Liguria, Lombardy, Piedmont, Valle d'Aosta, Veneto, Trentino-Alto Adige, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, and Emilia-Romagna), Central Italy (Tuscany, Umbria, Marche, Lazio, Abruzzo, and Molise) and Southern Italy (Campania, Calabria, Basilicata, Puglia, Sicily and Sardinia).

To discover oodles of other local culinary specialities and terms, just scroll down under the individual regional headings.

This is a preview of the content in our Italian Food Decoder app. Get the app to:
iOS App Store Google Play