Santa Chiara

A museum shop of glass

Santa Chiara

Originally known as San Nicolo della Torre, this church and convent on Murano underwent several changes over the centuries: initially inhabited by Augustinian monks, then by Benedictine nuns who were expelled for bad behaviour, finally by the sisters of St Clare, one of whom was Casanova's lover, the frisky 'MM'.

The church was suppressed in 1826, and eventually converted into a glass factory before it was abandoned in the 1970s. It was falling into ruin, but recently bought and restored to create a unique interactive glass-blowing museum and shop: stay tuned.

Practical Info

Fondamenta Daniele Manin 1

Vaporetto Colonna



+39 041 736 998

This is a preview of the content in our Venice Art & Culture app. Get the app to:
iOS App Store Google Play