To the left of the Gesuiti, this little Oratory is all that remains of the Crociferi church after it was demolished by the Jesuits. Founded in the 13th century by Doge Ranier Zeno, whose palazzo stood nearby, the Oratory was devoted to charity, its chief moments illustrated in glowing colours by Palma Giovane between 1583 and 1591. The events in themselves lack the drama of those in other Venetian altruistic organizations, but the younger Palma, whose paintings elsewhere are often workmanlike rehashes of Tintoretto, manages to convert some of them into charming images.
Hours Apr-Oct Fri 10am-12.30pm, Sat 3.30-7.30pm.
Campo dei Gesuiti
vaporetto: Fondamenta Nove
Images by: PD Art